2021 Aspire Young Achiever Awards: 3 winners announced

Aspire Circle logo

NEW DELHI: Celebrating the spirit of achievements by the young in art, culture and sportsmanship, Aspire Circle announced Thursday the winners of the 2021 Aspire Young Achiever Awards  - Harshita Tater (national Gold medallist para athlete and an aspiring doctor), Suhana Narjinary (national champion table tennis player) and Tanshu (Paralympic speed skater) for their outstanding feats in their respective domains.

The young achievers identified by Aspire Circle this year, like earlier, include trailblazers from humble backgrounds. The brand supported Saina Nehwal, badminton star turned BJP card holder from 2008-2013, during her journey from World top-50 to top-5. She became World #1 in 2015. Arunima Sinha, the amputee mountaineer won the award in 2012 before scaling Mt. Everest in 2013. Rani Rampal, India’s women hockey stalwart, won the award in 2013, before she became India’s hockey captain in 2018. Swapna Burman, Indian heptathlete, won the award in 2017 before she won the Asian Games Heptathlon Gold in 2018. 

In what is a welcome decision, starting 2020, the awards are to be only conferred on young and talented individuals from underprivileged backgrounds at the annual Aspire Circle event.  

The ARC summit will feature a virtual tête-à-tête with the three winners, who will share their experiences with Ms Suchitra Marwah, trustee, Aspire Action Trust. Announcing the 2021 winners, Ms Marwah said: “Aspire Young Achievers 2021 winners are inspiring role models for youth and entrepreneurs alike for their fearlessness, determination and unparalleled success in overcoming significant odds. Aspire takes great pride in honouring these individuals to celebrate the spirit of youth leadership.”

The awards will be presented to the three young achievers during the annual ARC 2021, online this year, on Sunday, 11 April, as part of the two-day social and environmental impact event. 

Here are some more details about the three young achievers to be honoured:
● Harshita Tater has won two Gold medals in the 31st State Level Para Athletic Championship in the 400- and 200-metre races. She is also representing Karnataka at the National Para Athletic Championship 2021. Harshita qualified for and was admitted to Bangalore Medical College and is currently in the first year of the MBBS course.

● Suhana Narjinary  won the Silver medal at the National Table Tennis Championship 2019 in the mixed doubles category. She is the first under-19 winner of the Table Tennis Marathon in 2019. She was also the Junior UP state champion in 2013.

● Tanshu is an extraordinarily talented boy, despite his intellectual learning difficulties, who won two Gold medals, one each in 333-metre and 500-meters speed skating at the Special Olympics Invitational Games 2020, Sweden, in February 2020. He also won a gold medal in 111-metre speed skating during the 2019 Special Olympics Bharat National Championship.

Established in 2009, Aspire Young Achiever Awards have been bestowed annually on three young achievers under 30 years of age in sports, art, culture, academics or civil society, who demonstrate outstanding achievements. The award carries a cash scholarship of Rs 100,000.