Minerva 1st N Indian team to win I-League

minenrva fc i-league

NEW DELHI: Minerva Punjab FC rode on William Asiedu Opoku’s goal to beat Churchill Brothers on Thursday and emerge triumphant in an I-League season peppered with twists and turns.

The Punjab side, in only in its second season in the top-flight, is the first from North India to win the coveted title.

The 2017-18 league was down to the most dramatic final day in the competition’s history with as many as four teams gunning for the title.

Churchill, meanwhile, has been relegated to the second division.