Winner Cricket XI win DC Gully Cricket C'ship

NEW DELHI: The inaugural season of the Delhi Capitals Gully Cricket Championship powered by Daikin, was won Sunday by Winner Cricket XI from Noida as they defeated Slog Warriors from Gurgaon by 56 runs in the final match of the competition held here at the Vinay Marg Sports Complex, Chanakyapuri.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Ankush Bains and pace bowler Bandaru Ayyappa from the Delhi Capitals' squad were present on the occasion to give away the awards to the winning and runners up teams.

The tournament had started earlier on 13th April, which saw 96 teams take part in the inaugural edition of the championship. The teams were involved in a total of 127 matches across three weekends and was spread across eight Zones in Delhi NCR. Each zone had a total of 12 teams who first competed in the Zonal Round in order to qualify for the City Finals. The City Finals took place here today between winning teams from the eight zones, namely Slog Warriors from Gurgaon, RC Cricket Academy from West Delhi,  ECC from Faridabad, Skylark Cricket Club from North Delhi, Mishra Sports Club from East Delhi, Winner Cricket XI from Noida/Greater Noida, Sports Craft from South East Delhi, and Rising Star Cricket Academy from South West Delhi.

Speaking on the successful conclusion of the Delhi Capitals Gully Cricket Championship, Delhi Capitals' Ankush Bains said: "It is great to see that our city is getting to play gully cricket in such an organised way through the Delhi Capitals Gully Cricket Championship. I was amazed to see how much hidden talent we have around the city, and it was also great to see women taking part in the championship. I would like to congratulate the winning team, Winner Cricket XI, on being excellent throughout the competition, and would like to thank all the participating players for their spirit of cricket."

The winning team was awarded with a prize money of Rs 50,000, while the runners-up took home a cheque of Rs 25,000.

The Delhi Capitals’ Gully Cricket Championship was played in a 7 overs-a side format with each team allowed to field only 7 players with 2 substitutions allowed only to replace a fielder who could not bat or bowl.