IOC elects 2 V-Ps, 2 EB members, 5 members

LAUSANNE: The 136th Session of the International Olympic Committee (IOC), the first-ever Session to be held by videoconference, elected John D. Coates and Ser Miang Ng as vice-presidents, and Mrs Mikaela Cojuangco Jaworski and Gerardo Werthein as members of the IOC executive board (EB). 

The Session also elected five new IOC members following the proposal of the EB on 10 June.

Coates and Ng will replace Professor Uğur Erdener and Juan Antonio Samaranch as vice-presidents.

Mrs Jaworski and Werthein will replace Sergey Bubka, whose eight-year term on the board came to an end, and Ng, whose four-year term came to an end and who was elected vice-president. Their terms of office will start at the end of the 136th IOC Session.

With this election, female representation on the EB has grown to 33.3 per cent. Also, the first vice-president, Ms Anita DeFrantz, is female.

The newly elected IOC members include four individual members and one member whose election is linked to a function within an International Federation (IF).

Individual Members:
- Mrs Maria de la Caridad Colón Ruenes (1958, Cuba)

- Mrs Kolinda Grabar-Kitarović (1968, Croatia)

- Princess Reema Bandar Al-Saud (1975, Saudi Arabia)

- Battushig Batbold (1986, Mongolia)

Member linked to a function within an IF:
- Sebastian Coe, president of World Athletics (1956, Great Britain).

The addition of the five new Members brings the total number of IOC members to 104.

With 39 women on board – representing 37.5 per cent of its membership versus 21.3 per cent in 2013 – the session has demonstrated the IOC’s commitment to promoting gender equality within its leadership. This is a tangible result of the implementation of the Gender Equality Review Project’s governance-related recommendation. A few weeks ago, the IOC announced the composition of its commissions for 2020, with 47.7 per cent of positions held by women, a concrete outcome of the Olympic Agenda 2020 reforms.

Three Members were re-elected for an additional eight years: Mrs Lingwei Li, Pierre-Olivier Beckers-Vieujant and Mrs Aïcha Garad Ali.

Change of status and extension of term
IOC member William Frederick Blick saw his status changed from member representing an NOC (membership linked to his function as president of the NOC of Uganda) to individual member.

Additionally, Zaiqing Yu, whose term of office was expected to end in December 2021 due to his reaching the age limit, had his term extended until the end of 2025.

Honorary Member
Mrs Beatrice Allen, finishing her term of office at the end of 2020 due to reaching the age limit, was granted the status of IOC honorary member after having served as an IOC member for 14 years.