Hero I-League 2020-21 to kick off on January 9

Hero I-League logo

NEW DELHI: The fourteenth edition of Hero I-League will kick-off on Saturday (January 9, 2021) in Kolkata.

Eleven teams will need to enter the bio-secure bubble 14 days prior to their first match according to the schedule, which will be announced shortly.

The matches will be telecast live on 1Sports.

Owing to the COVID-19 pandemic situation, the previous edition of Hero I-League halted abruptly, before the football action resumed once again in India through Hero I-League Qualifier 2020 in October. The government of West Bengal and Indian Football Association (IFA) joined hands with the All India Football Federation to organise the qualifiers successfully.

All 11 teams will face each other once in the first leg of the league before they are divided into two different groups. Top six teams, according to the points table, will face each other once again to decide the winner whereas the other five teams will play against each other in a one-leg league format. The team with maximum points (cumulative points collected from all fifteen matches) will be the winner of Hero I-League 2020-21.

The entire tournament will be hosted adhering to the COVID-19 SOPs released by the Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, Government of India and no spectators will be allowed inside the stadium during a match.