Inaugural Bengal T20 Challenge to kick off November 24

KOLKATA: The inaugural edition of the Bengal T20 Challenge is all set to bring back cricket to the Eden Gardens from November 24. Six teams (all clubs) will compete against each other in a bio-secure bubble, according to a Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) press release.

There will be a total of 33 matches played, including the semi-finals and final, with each of the six clubs – East Bengal, Mohun Bagan, Town, Kalighat, Tapan Memorial, Calcutta Customs – playing each other twice.

The schedule, which may include triple-headers on some days with the majority of the matches to be played under floodlights, is expected to be released on Saturday.

CAB president Avishek Dalmiya attributed the purpose of the tournament to blood young talent in West Bengal.

"The thought process behind this tournament is to nurture the talents of the state of West Bengal and also enable this competition to act as a talent feeder to the various age groups representing the association," Dalmiya was quoted as saying on CAB’s Facebook page.

While all six clubs had retained a total of 42 players, they signed 8 more players at a draft conducted at a Kolkata hotel on Tuesday.

Each side now has 15 players in their ranks, with the captains being Abhimanyu Easwaran, Manoj Tiwary, Shahbaz Ahmed, MD. Kaif, Subham Sarkar and Shreyan Chakraborty.