India tour of Australia: SPN announces Extraaa Innings panel

Sony Pictures Sports Network logo

MUMBAI: Sony Pictures Sports Network (SPSN) is all set to broadcast the highly anticipated India tour of Australia 2020 series which will feature 3 T20Is, 3 ODIs and 4 Tests, starting November 27, and will be aired LIVE on SONY TEN 1, SONY TEN 3 and SONY SIX channels in India from 8.00 am IST and will be livestreamed on its on-demand OTT platform SonyLIV.

SPSN will broadcast the series on SONY TEN 1 channels in English, SONY TEN 3 channels in Hindi and SONY SIX channels in English, Tamil and Telugu. The ODIs and T20Is will be telecast across three channels SONY SIX (English, Tamil & Telugu), SONY TEN 1 (English) and SONY TEN 3 (Hindi) while the Test matches will be telecast on SONY SIX (English) & SONY TEN 3 ( Hindi) channels.

To further enhance the fan experience and ensure an unparalleled viewing experience for audiences across the nation, SPSN will return with its flagship studio show Extraaa Innings. Extraaa Innings will feature a star-studded line-up of legends and former cricketers like Glenn McGrath, Sanjay Manjrekar, Ajay Jadeja, Virender Sehwag, Zaheer Khan, Nick Knight, Mohammad Kaif, Murali Karthik, Vivek Razdan, Ajit Agarkar and Vijay Dahiya who will share their insights with viewers through the course of the series. Harsha Bhogle and Arjun Pandit have been roped in as English and Hindi presenters respectively along with Erin Holland who will be the on-ground presenter for the series.

It bears noting that Manjrekar's presence as a panelist for India’s tour of Australia makes for news as the veteran was dropped by the Board of Control for Cricket in India from the commentary team of the recently concluded Indian Premier League 2020.

Viewers in India will get to experience both world feed commentary from Australia with Shane Warne and Adam Gilchrist as well as customized English and Hindi commentary from SPSN’s band of panelists. SPSN has also tied up with Fox Sports Australia and will feature their eminent panelists like Allan Border, Isa Guha and Brendan Julian on Extraaa Innings and viewers in Australia will also get to enjoy SPSN’s Hindi commentary on Fox Sport Australia’s digital platform. The commentators for the Tamil feed will feature Arasu, Sheshadri Srinivasan, Vidhyut Sivaramakrishnan, R Sathish and Naveen Shauri while the commentators for the Telugu feed will feature RJ Hemant, Vijay Mahavadi, Gnaneshwar Rao, C Venkatesh and Illendula Ramprasad.

Sponsor roster
SPSN announces its sponsors for the blockbuster series and the co-presenters of the series include Maruti Suzuki India Ltd., My11Circle, Byju’s, Payments on and Vimal Pan Masala while the associate sponsors include Mondelez, Pernod Ricard, MRF, SBI Mutual Fund, Netflix and Ather Energy to name a few. 

In addition to this, Dettol has been roped in as the presenting sponsor for the studio show, “Dettol Extraaa Innings”. 

To connect with the sentiments and engage with the Indian cricket fans, SPSN launched the #CricketKaAsliRang campaign that pays an ode to the undying true-blue love for the game of cricket. The campaign is a clarion call to all the Indian cricket fans, across the globe, invoking them to show support and cheer for their home team. 

The campaign is based on a simple insight that for every Indian cricket fan, no matter who the opponent or the player, the heart beats only for Team India, the voice cheers only for Team India and the true colour of cricket for India is BLUE. The campaign film invokes the true BLUE love for cricket through the creative lens of ripping clothes to reveal the second skin of every Indian – ‘The colour of the Indian cricket – Blue’. The film resonates with people from different walks of life as they indulge in celebrating the return of Men in Blue on the pitch after nine months against their toughest rivals Australia, in Australia.

Rajesh Kaul, chief revenue officer, Distribution and head – Sports Business, SPN, said: “Cricket in India is not just a sport; it is an emotion and Sony Sports is excited to showcase all LIVE action from Team India’s first endeavour after nine months against Indian cricket’s biggest rival, Australia. This will also be the first time that fans will be allowed to attend an international match as all the recent international series since March were played behind closed doors. We know how significant this series is for Indian fans and will be airing the series with four language feeds -English, Hindi, Tamil and Telugu to reach out to a wider set of viewers. We are also excited to bring back our studio show Extraaa Innings, which will feature some of the most respected names from the cricketing fraternity like Glenn McGrath, Harsha Bhogle, Sanjay Manjrekar, Ajay Jadeja, Virender Sehwag, Zaheer Khan, Nick Knight and more to provide their expert insights for an unapparelled viewing experience to our fans through the series.”

Watch India Tour of Australia, starting 27th November, from 8:00 am, LIVE on SONY TEN 1, SONY TEN 3 and SONY SIX channels.