All India Chess Federation elects Sanjay Kapoor as new president

All India Chess Federation logo

NEW DELHI: Sanjay Kapoor was elected president of the All India Chess Federation (AICF), while Bharat Singh Chauhan retained the secretary’s post, in the polls held online on Monday.

Sanjay Kapoor All India Chess Federation
Sanjay Kapoor

Kapoor, representing Uttar Pradesh Chess Association, defeated incumbent PR Venketrama Raja in a close contest, reports PTI. Kapoor received 33 votes as against 31 of Raja.

Naresh Sharma, belonging to the Chauhan faction, was elected treasurer.

The AICF has been split into two factions, one led by Raja and the other by Chauhan, PTI further reports. The two have been at loggerheads for some time over various issues, including the conduct of the elections.

Several legal battles were fought in the past year and a half and there were instances when the president and the secretary suspended each other at different times.

After a long-drawn battle, a court-appointed observer Justice (retired) K Kannan presided over the election process held online because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

It was the first time since 2005 that the AICF elections saw a contest as the candidates were chosen unanimously in the last 15 years.

Apart from the president, secretary and treasurer, six vice-presidents and six joint secretaries were also elected.

“We have created history. It is a victory for chess lovers. It is the beginning of a new era for chess players and chess lovers in the country,” Kapoor told PTI.