BCCI announces annual retainership for women cricketers

BCCI logo

MUMBAI: The Board of Control for Cricket in India on Wednesday announced the Annual Player Contracts for Team India (Senior Women) for the period from October 2020 to September 2021. 

The payment structures are as under-  

Grade A (Rs 5m): Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana, Poonam Yadav.

Grade B (Rs 3m): Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami, Deepti Sharma, Punam Raut, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shafali Verma, Radha Yadav, Shikha Pandey, Taniya Bhatia, Jemimah Rodrigues.

Grade C (Rs 1m): Mansi Joshi, Arundhati Reddy, Pooja Vastrakar, Harleen Deol, Priya Punia, Richa Ghosh.

While Harmanpreet, Smriti and Poonam remain in the top bracket, Shafali and Punam earned a promotion by moving from Grade C to Grade B.

It bears noting that in a step back as it were, the number of women cricketers annually contracted has come down from 22 to 19.

For the record, the time period for the previous contract was October 2019 to September 2020.