Mumbai Indians beat Delhi Capitals to clinch inaugural WPL title

Mumbai beat Delhi to clinch inaugural WPL title

Mumbai Indians have been crowned champions at the inaugural TATA Women’s Premier League after overcoming Delhi Capitals by seven wickets at the Brabourne Stadium here on Sunday.

The MI players put on an all-round show as they bowled, batted and fielded brilliantly to lift the championship. Issy Wong (3/42) and Hayley Matthews (3/5) starred with the ball with three wickets each as they helped MI restrict DC to 131/9. Nat Sciver-Brunt then played a match-winning knock of 60* off 55 balls, ably supported by Harmanpreet Kaur (37 off 39), as MI chased down the target in the last over in a tight finish.

MI coach and former England captain Charlotte Edwards said she felt “over the moon” to clinch the title.

“To win this is one of my greatest achievements in my career.

“They played for one another, it has been a wonderful experience.”

The five-team tournament has been hailed as a “game-changer” in women’s cricket, offering lucrative deals to attract leading names from the sport.

The sale of WPL’s franchises and media rights alone fetched $690 million, and the BCCI lined up an impressive array of sponsors for the 22-match tournament.