FIA approves 21-race calendar for F1 in 2019

MUMBAI: Motorsport's world governing body FIA has approved Formula One’s 21-race calendar for 2019.

FIA's World Motor Sport Council, which met in St. Petersburg on Wednesday, confirmed that that 11 races would be held in Europe, five in Asia, four in the Americas and one in Australia.

The season will start one week earlier and finish one week later.

F1 Schedule for 2019 season:
March 17: Australia, Melbourne
March 31: Bahrain, Sakhir
April 14: China, Shanghai
April 28: Azerbaijan, Baku
May 12: Spain, Barcelona
May 26: Monaco
June 9: Canada, Montreal
June 23: France, Le Castellet
June 30: Austria, Spielberg
July 14: Britain, Silverstone
July 28: Germany, Hockenheim
Aug. 4: Hungary, Budapest
Sept. 1: Belgium, Spa
Sept. 8: Italy, Monza
Sept. 22: Singapore
Sept. 29: Russia, Sochi
Oct. 13: Japan, Suzuka
Oct. 27: Mexico City
Nov. 3: United States, Austin
Nov. 17: Brazil, Sao Paulo
Dec. 1: Abu Dhabi, Yas Marina

Changes to the 2019 F1 Sporting Regulations were agreed in order to:
Ensure that fuel handling procedures are the same during testing as they are during race events
Ensure that the way in which the grid is formed is clear when multiple penalties have been imposed
Keep cars under yellow flag conditions until they reach the control line after the safety car returns to the pits
Allow unrestricted CFD simulations to be carried out for the development of cars in accordance with the 2021 regulations
The Council approved the following amendments to the 2019 Technical Regulations:

Adjustments to Article 3 in order to provide more clarity in some areas, primarily related to the front wing
An adjustment to Article 4, with a weight limit increase from 740kg to 743kg