Sports Ministry to create 20 National Centres of Excellence

NEW DELHI: The Union Sports Ministry create 20 National Centres of Excellence to groom athletes for 2024 and 2028 Olympics.

Each centre will offer funds for four to six specific sports. The new scheme will ensure that athletes in the same premises have access to similar facilities unlike before.

Union Minister for Youth Affairs and Sports Kiren Rijiju said standardising training on campuses will enable athletes to attain much higher performances in their respective sport. In a tweet, he urged State governments and corporates to develop sports centres.  

Twenty Sports Authority of India (SAI) facilities have been identified as National Centers of Excellence. The centres are in Patiala, Thiruvananthapuram, Chandigarh, Sonepat, Lucknow, Guwahati, Imphal, Kolkata, Bhopal, Bengaluru, Mumbai and Gandhinagar, Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Indira Gandhi Stadium, Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium,  Dr. Karni Singh Shooting Range, Dr. Shyama Prasad Mookherjee Swimming Pool Complex, all in Delhi, National Water Sports Academy (Khelo India), Alleppey, National Boxing Academy (Khelo India), Rohtak, National Wrestling Academy (Khelo India), Aurangabad.