Women’s Indian Open: Wolf wins maiden LET title, Varma best Indian

GURUGRAM: Christine Wolf buried the ghosts of the past with a bogey-free final round to clinch the Hero Women’s Indian Open for her maiden Ladies European Tour title.

The HWIO and the DLF Golf and Country Club is becoming a happy hunting ground for first-time winners. Following Welsh veteran Becky Morgan’s breakthrough win after 19 long years on the Ladies European Tour in 2018, it was the 30-year-old Austrian Wolf’s turn as she grabbed her first title after six years on the Tour.

Wolf, who received the trophy from Pawan Munjal, chairman, Hero MotoCorp, showed no nervousness on the final day as she delivered a commanding bogey-free final round of 69 to total 11-under 277 and win with rounds of 73, 68, 67 and 69. She finished three shots ahead of Marianne Skarpnord (70 and eight-under) and four ahead of MacLaren (72 and seven-under). Whitney Hillier, the halfway co-leader, shot 72 and was sole fourth at six-under.

Indians had a lot to cheer for as well, with a strong display from top amateur Anika Varma, who finished in fifth place with a 3-under par aggregate of 285 and a final day card of two-under 70.

The 15-year-old Anika was one shot ahead of best-placed home professional Tvesa Malik, who was tied sixth at one-under 287. A year ago, Tvesa had finished as the best- home golfer at tied 13th alongside Gaurika Bishnoi, so Sunday’s result was significant progress for the LET rookie as well.

A year ago in 2018, Wolf fumbled twice. First on the third day while being well ahead and on the final day, when she was tied for the lead. She shot a quadruple bogey on the third day and a double bogey on the final day and finished Tied-second allowing Morgan to grab the title. This time, there was to be no such error.

Forgotten were the memories of a hole that had cost her eight shots over the week last year. As on Saturday, Wolf sent her third shot sailing on to the green and calmly two-putted for the $75,000 winner’s cheque and a maiden Tour title.

Among other Indians Astha Madan (70 and 2-over 290) was Tied-19th, Vani Kapoor (75 and 3-over 291) was T-21st, Diksha Dagar (74 and 7-over 295) was Tied-32nd, Amandeep Drall (78 and 9-over 297) was T-37th, amateur Pranavi Urs (75 and 11-over 299) and Gaurika Bishnoi (77 and 11-over 299) were Tied-47th, amateur Jahnavi Bakshi (76 and 14-over 302) was Tied-57th and another amateur Seher Atwal (79 and 16-over 304) was Tied-61st.