AIFF certifies 89 academies; Reliance Foundation Young Champs tops

NEW DELHI: 89 out of 123 clubs/academies that had applied for the academy accreditation have cleared the criteria this season (2019-20). Out of them, one academy (Reliance Foundation Young Champs) has received a 5-star rating followed by three academies/clubs (Bhaichung Bhutia Football Schools (Delhi), Jamshedpur FC and Bengaluru FC) who have obtained a 4-star rating. Meanwhile, seven academies have also received 'Basic' accreditation.

A club/academy is allowed to compete in the Youth Leagues (Hero Elite League, Hero Junior League and Hero Sub-Junior League) organised by AIFF, should they successfully clear the Accreditation process for the respective season. Incidentally, with a success rate of 72 per cent, the total number of successful academies have also gone up since the last season (83 academies cleared the process in 2018-19).

The Academy Accreditation process lasted for six months that included organisation of workshops, submission of mandatory documents for assessment followed by physical inspections carried out by designated AIFF personnel and the declaration of results.

All academies were assessed on the basis of age-group teams, technical support, training curriculum, talent identification and recruitment process, facilities and infrastructure, medical provisions, tournament participation and existing administrative support.

The list of successful club/academies in 2019-20 is as follows:
Basic: New Barrackpore Rainbow AC, Keshab-Uma Charitable Trust Football Academy, Lonestar FC, FF Academy, Pay for Right Youth and Cultural Club (Shillong), Football Leaders Academy - Sri Ma, Green Global Sports Academy.

1-Star: FC Kerala, ARA FC, Guruvayoor Sports Academy, Bangalore Youth Football League, Rangdajied United FC, TYDA, Sreenidhi Football Club, AU Rajasthan, Sports Authority of Jharkhand, The Hooghly District Sports Association, Maximus Prime Sports L. L. P., FAO Academy, Football Plus Professional Soccer Academy, Aazura Football Academy, Youth Soccer Academy, Bhawanipore FC, Real Kashmir FC, Chennai City FC, Aizawl FC, J&K Bank Football Academy, Bhaichung Bhutia Football Schools (Punjab), PIFA, Raman Sports Academy, Dhanbad Football Academy, Muthoot Football Academy, Sporting Clube de Goa, Indian Football Academy, Durbar Mahila Samanwaya Committee, Bhaichung Bhutia Football Schools (Bengaluru), Churchill Brother FC, Football Academy of Bangalore.

2-Star: Salgaocar FC, Iron Born FC, Jain Academy for Sporting Excellence, Baroda Football Academy, Delhi Dynamos FC, Chennaiyin FC, FC Goa, Quess East Bengal FC, Conscient Football, SAIL Football Academy (Bokaro),  Kerala Blasters FC, Bengal Football Academy, United Punjab Football Club, Football School of India, Roots Football School, Shillong Lajong FC, United Sports Club, FC Pune City, Don Bosco, Oscar SSE, FC Mumbaikars, SESA Football Academy, Raman Vijayan Soccer Schools, Great Goals, ATK, Ozone Football Academy, Baranagar Sporting Club, Numaligarh Football Academy, Stadium Sports Foundation, Bidhannagar Municipal Sports Academy, Mohun Bagan AC, J&K State Football Academy, Somaiya Sports Academy, Round Glass Sports, Gokulam Kerala FC, Sports Hostel Odisha, SAG Football Academy, India Rush Soccer Club, Football Club Mangalore, Kahaani FC, Parappur FC.

3-Star: Boca Juniors Football Schools, FC Madras, Kenkre FC, Youth Football Club, Minerva Punjab FC, Dempo SC.

4-Star: Bhaichung Bhutia Football Schools (Delhi), Jamshedpur FC,  Bengaluru FC.

5-Star: Reliance Foundation Young Champs.