Asian Cup: Indian, Chinese Taipei teams touch down in Mumbai

AFC Women’s Asian Cup India 2022

MUMBAI: The Indian and Chinese Taipei football teams reached Mumbai Thursday ahead of the AFC Women’s Asian Cup India 2022, which kicks off on 20 January.

While Chinese Taipei was the first team to arrive in the morning, the Indian contingent followed shortly after in the afternoon.

The 20th edition of the AFC Women’s Asian Cup India 2022 will feature 12 teams, which have been divided into three groups. Group A includes India, China PR, Chinese Taipei, and IR Iran, while Group B includes Australia, Thailand, Philippines and Indonesia. Meanwhile Japan, Korea Republic, Vietnam and Myanmar have been slotted in Group C.

The tournament will act as the final stage of Asian qualification for the 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup in Australia and New Zealand. With Australia having already qualified as co-host, five more teams will qualify for the main event directly while two of them will progress to the inter-confederation play-offs.